Recipients of President’s Awards shine in advancing St. Joseph’s

Jun. 29, 2017

Every day extraordinary efforts are made by so many people to advance the mission and values of St. Joseph’s Health Care London (St. Joseph’s). To acknowledge these achievements and dedication, the annual St. Joseph’s President’s Awards honour individuals, teams and community partners for their stellar contributions and the impact they have had on patients/residents, as well as their colleagues.

“Every year, dedicated, outstanding individuals, teams and partners show remarkable commitment in helping St. Joseph’s reach new heights,” says Dr. Gillian Kernaghan, President and CEO, St. Joseph’s. “We are most proud to have these standout individuals and teams as part of the St. Joseph’s family.”

The 2017 recipients are:

  • Sandra Letton Quality Award: The award recognizes a St. Joseph’s team who has made an outstanding contribution toward improvement in quality patient care. The recipient raises the level of awareness and shares examples of their excellent work within our organization and far beyond. Most importantly, this award recipient contributes to an overall culture of quality at St. Joseph’s. This year’s recipient is the St. Joseph’s Primary Care Diabetes Support Program for their innovative work to help reduce diabetes-related amputations.
  • Community Partner of Distinction Award: The award honours a group or organization that makes a significant contribution to the health and well-being of individuals and our community as a whole. They have stepped up to collaborate with us – and we with them – an effort to improve patient care outcomes and the overall patient care experience. This year’s recipient is St. Leonard’s Community Services, London and Region (SLCS), selected for their mutual purpose in promoting positive change for individuals who have been in conflict with the law. Their trained staff, and compassion and sensitivity to the challenging life trajectories of St. Joseph’s patients continue to feed the success of true partnership. 
  • Aspiring Leader Award: This award recognizes an individual who shows significant skill development, demonstrates leadership qualities and has recently risen to a leadership challenge. This year’s recipient is Erin Watson, Coordinator of Specialized Geriatric Services at Parkwood Institute. Watson’s team describes her as a hands-on leader who leads by example. She lives and breathes St. Joseph’s vision of earning complete confidence in patients, families and staff every day.
  • Kathy Burrill Leadership in Mission Award: This award celebrates efforts to exemplify and advance St. Joseph’s roles and values as a Catholic, academic and community-oriented health care provider. Recipients are effective change agents and forward-thinkers – the type of leader others want to follow or work in partnership with. This year’s recipient is Julie Gagliardi, Coordinator of Regional Rehabilitation and the Neurobehavioural Rehabilitation Centre. With a leadership style characterized as open, creative, respectful and transparent, Gagliardi encourages her staff to think outside the box and models and encourages continuous learning. Outside the hospital, she has an unflagging passion for making a difference in the lives of the people St. Joseph’s serves – patients, families, colleagues and the community.

You can find more information about why these recipients were chosen.


For more information:
Dahlia Reich, Communication and Public Affairs
519.646.6100 ext. 65294

Back to Newsroom